About Us

ASTRI
Background

About ASTRI

Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute Company Limited (ASTRI) was founded by the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region in 2000 with the mission of enhancing Hong Kong’s competitiveness in technology-based industries through applied research. ASTRI’s core R&D competence in various areas has been organised under seven Technology Divisions: Communications Technologies, Electronics Components, Mixed Signal Systems IC, Advanced Digital Systems, Optoelectronics, Security and Data Sciences, and Intelligent Software and Systems.

In 2006, ASTRI was designated as the Research and Development Centre for Information and Communications Technologies by the Innovation and Technology Commission. In 2012, ASTRI was given approval from the State Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST) under the Chinese State Council to establish the first Hong Kong Branch of the Chinese National Engineering Research Centre (CNERC) for Application Specific Integrated Circuit System in collaboration with Southeast University (SEU) in Nanjing.

Our R&D strategic focus covers five areas of applications: Financial Technologies, Smart City, Intelligent Manufacturing, Next Generation Network and Health Technologies. These, together with the Hong Kong branch of the CNERC, form our R&D strategy.

 

Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Institute (ASTRI) is organising the annual Technovation Summit – bringing together the brightest minds from the Innovation and Technology (I&T) ecosystem to explore new ideas and share insights. The Summit will also enable I&T experts to engage and collaborate with their industry peers. ASTRI is the largest Government-funded research institution in the SAR, established in 2000 with the mission of enhancing Hong Kong's competitiveness through applied research.

The theme for this year’s Technovation summit is “A Smart Future Powered by AI”. The event will focus on Artificial Intelligence (AI) and connectivity and, in particular, how the revolution in AI and communication technologies will shape our future.

關於我們

ASTRI
Background

About ASTRI

香港應用科技研究院有限公司(應科院)由香港特別行政區政府於2000年成立,其使命是要透過應用科技研究,協助發展以科技為基礎的產業,藉此提升香港的競爭力。應科院的主要科技研發領域由通訊技術、電子元件、混和信號系統晶片、先進數碼系統、智能感測技術與系統、信息安全與數據科學及智能軟件與系統七個技術部門構成。

2006年,應科院獲創新科技署指定為「資訊及通訊技術 研發中心」。2012年,應科院獲國家科學技術部批准,與南京的東南大學合作,成立本港第一所「國家專用集成電路系統工程技術研究中心香港分中心」。

應科院的研發策略主要應用在五項重點範疇:金融科技、智慧城市、智能製造、新一代通訊網絡及健康技術。同時,我們也致力拓展應科院內之國家專用集成電路系統工程技術研究中心香港分中心的工作。以上的架構和研發方向,譜成應科院的發展策略。

 

香港應用科技學院(應科院)正在籌備年度創新科技峰會 (Technovation Summit) - 匯集創新科技(I&T)界中頂尖人才,探索新想法並分享見解,並促進I&T專家與業界的交流和合作。應科院是特區政府資助的最大型研究機構,成立於二零零二年,其使命是透過應用研究提升香港的競爭力。

今年創新科技峰會的主題為「A Smart Future Powered by AI」,將重點關注人工智能(AI)和連接度,特別是人工智能和通信技術的革新如何塑造我們的未來。